Sma' Talk Wi' T

Current world events, politics, news, history, culture, trivia, religion, and the quirky

Does Juan Williams Have GCD?

leave a comment »

Listening to Fox’s Beltway Boys with Fred Barnes and Juan Williams filling in for Mort Kondracke. I don’t understand Juan Williams, a seemingly intelligent, normal liberal, who tolerates hearing the right’s viewpoints so that he can stay employed by the highest rated news network in television. I have watched Williams on several news shows on Fox, i.e. Special Report with Bret Baier, The Beltway Boys, O’Reilly, repeatedly corrected by the hosts for saying that Rush Limbaugh wants Obama to fail. Williams knows he’s falsely perpetuating the leftwing talking points despite being told over and over again that he is taking Limbaugh’s words out of context.

Williams: “Well, let me tell you something Fred. You think the White House concocted this [Michael Steele and Rush Limbaugh melee] but my recollection differs. I think history indicates that Rush Limbaugh even before Barack Obama was inaugurated on Jan. 21st, there was Rush Limbaugh saying ‘I hope he fails.’

Rush’s actual quote was: “If I wanted Obama to succeed, I’d be happy the Republicans have laid down. And I would be encouraging Republicans to lay down and support him. Look, what he’s talking about is the absorption of as much of the private sector by the US government as possible, from the banking business, to the mortgage industry, the automobile business, to health care. I do not want the government in charge of all of these things. I don’t want this to work. So I’m thinking of replying to the guy, “Okay, I’ll send you a response, but I don’t need 400 words, I need four: I hope he fails.” (interruption) What are you laughing at? See, here’s the point. Everybody thinks it’s outrageous to say. Look, even my staff, “Oh, you can’t do that.” Why not? Why is it any different, what’s new, what is unfair about my saying I hope liberalism fails? Liberalism is our problem. Liberalism is what’s gotten us dangerously close to the precipice here. Why do I want more of it? I don’t care what the Drive-By story is. I would be honored if the Drive-By Media headlined me all day long: “Limbaugh: I Hope Obama Fails.” Somebody’s gotta say it.”

Williams: ‘I hope he fails.’ And then condemning it as… condemning President Obama as the epitome of radical liberalism and he hoped radical liberalisms fail. Now you think about this. The country is in the midst of an economic crisis and you have a major talk show host in the country saying ‘I hope our president fails.’

Is that what Rush really said, Juan? Do you have the integrity to quote Rush Limbaugh’s actual statement? I don’t think so. The economy has declined 20% since Obama was elected. It’s now Obama’s albatross and he needs to take responsibility for his budget failures and the fear-mongering.

Williams: As I understand it, he’s [Obama] president of Republicans, president of Democrats, he’s president of the United States and we should all be rooting for him to succeed at some level.

President of the United States should listen to all his constituents’ representatives, i.e. Republican Senators? Why was the GOP locked out of Congress’s stimulus budget planning sessions?

Williams: We may have differences about the plan. But saying ‘I hope he fails.’ Okay I think Rush set himself up.”

Yes, that’s the secret plan – Rush set himself to make his ratings go up. That’s some set-up. What is wrong with liberals? It has to be GCD, or genetic comprehension disability – the dreaded leftist disease of hearing one thing but not understanding it at all or totaling ignoring it and progating a lie taken out of context.

It’s disengenous and deliberate. Do whatever it takes to keep the naked Emperor in imaginary clothing.

Juan Williams is suffering from self-serving bias.

Now what is wrong with Fox to keep putting Williams on such high profile network shows?

Written by smalltalkwitht

March 7, 2009 at 10:08 pm

Leave a Reply

