Sma' Talk Wi' T

Current world events, politics, news, history, culture, trivia, religion, and the quirky

I’m A Lonely Little Onion In An Onion Patch

leave a comment »

My momma used to sing this song to us as children. She would sing it whenever we were crying or we were singing songs. I think Captain Kangaroo would also have it on his children’s show and she would sing it with the television, too. We loved it with all the emotions and sound effects. Especially the “boo hoo” part. Sing along and enjoy.

Of all the saddest words
That I have ever heard
The saddest is the story told me by a bird
He had spent about an hour
A-chatting with a flower
And here’s the tale the flower told:

Oooh…

I’m a wonewy wittow petunia in an onion patch
An onion patch, an onion patch,
I’m a wonewy wittow petunia in an onion patch,
And all I do is cry all day

Boo hoo, boo hoo,
The air’s so strong it takes my breath away…
Wide ay-way

I’m a wonewy wittow petunia in an onion patch.
Oh, won’t you come and play with me?

(instrum.)

Who put me in this bed?
I bet his face is red,
I call him down with every teardrop that I shed
If I only had him here
I’d take him by the ear
And make him share my misery.

My nerves begin to crack
Each time I see a track
Made by a kitty with a stripe upon his back
If he’d ever stop by me
I think I’d rather be
A dead petunia, wouldn’t you?

All together, woooah (nuts)

I’m a wonewy wittow petunia in an onion patch
An onion patch, an onion patch,
I’m a wonewy wittow petunia in an onion patch,
And all I do is cry awe day:
B’ hoo,hoo
B’hoo hoo hoo hoo,
Oh the air’s so strong it takes my breath away,
Wide ay-way…

I’m a wonewy wittow petunia in an onion patch.
Oh, won’t you come and pway with me?
I am so gruesome….
Oh, won’t you come and pway with me?
My best friends tell me….

Oh, won’t you come and pway with me?

Written by smalltalkwitht

January 10, 2009 at 11:43 pm

Leave a Reply

