Sma' Talk Wi' T

Current world events, politics, news, history, culture, trivia, religion, and the quirky

Updated: Music From The 80’s That Didn’t Suck

with 12 comments

My husband, Tony knows his rock and roll. A guitar player, ex-band musician, music afficianado, able to name one hit wonders and their bands, obscure band members, he can “name that tune” in five notes. Here is his first CD list of music from the 80’s that didn’t suck. How many do you remember? Let me know if you agree or if you want to mention your own. All responses will be added.

  • Men At Work: Who Can It Be Now
  • The Stray Cats: Rock This Town
  • The Waitresses: I Know What Boys Like
  • Thomas Dolby: She Blinded Me With Science
  • The Buggles: Video Killed the Radio Star
  • Squeeze: Tempted
  • Madness: Our House
  • Dexy’s Midnight Runners: Come On, Eileen
  • Wang Chung: Everybody Have Fun Tonight
  • The Clash: Rock the Casbah
  • DEVO: Whip It
  • Human League: Don’t You Want Me
  • Men Without Hats: Safety Dance
  • Bananarama: Venus
  • Kim Carnes: Betty Davis Eyes
  • Eddy Grant: Electric Avenue
  • Falco: Rock Me Amadeus
  • After The Fire: Der Kommissar
  • Chris DeBurgh: Don’t Pay The Ferryman
  • Edie Brickell and the New Bohemians: What I Am
  • Georgia Satellites: Keep Your Hands to Yourself
  • Bangles: Walk Like an Egyptian
  • Timbuk 3: Future’s So Bright I Gotta Wear Shades
  • Dire Straights: Money For Nothing
  • The Hooters: And We Danced
  • Cyndi Lauper: She Bop
  • Nena: 99 Luftballoons
  • Tommy Tutone: 867-5309/Jenny
  • Men At Work: Down Under
  • Talking Heads: Once in a Lifetime
  • Go-Go’s: We Got the Beat
  • The Stray Cats: Stray Cat Strut
  • Blondie: The Tide Is High
  • Gary Numan: Cars
  • The Vapors: Turning Japanese
  • Effcee: Kids in America
  • Howard Jones: Things Can Only Get Better
  • Rick James: Super Freak (Part 1)
  • The Cars: Shake It Up
  • Prince: Little Red Corvette
  • Philip Bailey and Phil Collins: Easy Lover
  • Deniece Williams: Let’s Hear It For the Boy
  • Robert Palmer: Simply Irresistible
  • Bangles: Hazy Shade of Winter
  • The Romantics: Talking In Your Sleep
  • Cyndi Lauper: Girls Just Want to Have Fun

You can go to Rhapsody and download the music to make your own CD.

Tony is working on the second CD of “Music from the 80’s that don’t suck.” Stay tuned.

Well, Tony got to work and here is the rest of the “Music from the 80’s that Don’t Suck.” Enough for a total of 3 CD’s.

  • Funkytown – Lipps Inc.
  • Kyrie – Mr. Mister
  • I Want a New Drug – Huey Lewis and The News
  • Take On Me – A-Ha
  • Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) – The Eurythmics
  • Maniac – Michael Sembello
  • Freeze-Frame – J. Geils Band
  • Trouble – Lindsey Buckingham
  • Too Shy – Kajagoogoo
  • I Want Candy – Bow Wow Wow
  • Don’t Misunderstand Me – Rossington-Collins Band
  • Sledgehammer – Peter Gabriel
  • West End Girls – Pet Shop Boys
  • Mr. Roboto – Styx
  • Love Shack – The B-52s
  • Pop Muzik – M
  • Sunset Grill – Don Henley
  • My one album selection: Billy Joel’s Stormfront

Tony says:

“There were several basic guidelines I followed when compiling this list. For starters, I wanted to compile a list of the aggressively unique songs such as “Der Kommissar” or “Rock Me, Amadeus.” Sadly, that very characteristic pretty much condemned the responsible artists to one-hit wonder territory.

Also, I tried to stay away as much as possible from my personal favorites such as Styx (who I have seen in concert a dozen times) and tried not to overpopulate the list with FM classic rock standards (although it’s impossible to leave off “Freeze-Frame” or “Simply Irresistible”). Lastly, I tried to limit myself to one song per artist (I know, I doubled up on Cyndi Lauper, The Stray Cats, and Men At Work). To get around that self-imposed limitation, I had to add in Billy Joel’s Stormfront album, which contains just about every one of my favorite Joel songs (with the exception of 1976’s “Angry Young Man” and 1978’s “Stiletto”).

You’ll notice that just about every tune is high-energy. Say what you want about the 80’s, the music had a pulse, artists weren’t afraid to be different (sorry, I refuse to put Culture Club on the list; I have my limits), and listening to the radio was a lot of fun. I miss that.” ~ Tony

Written by smalltalkwitht

May 12, 2008 at 6:41 pm

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The day after that chat, there was a show on TV abt the 100 greatest hits of the 80’s. Boy, most it it was pure crap lol

    Celt

    May 12, 2008 at 4:26 pm

  2. I agree…
    I love the 80’s!!!
    I must say there is not to many songs that I don’t know from that decade!!!

    Thanks to a very musically inclined family!!!

    Agreed but I would like to see a list of the worst songs!

    TJC

    Anonymous

    May 12, 2008 at 4:30 pm

  3. Songs that shoulda made the list but were born too early: Time after time —cyndi lauper —1979

    Everybody wants to rule the world –Tears for Fears —-1978

    Celt

    May 12, 2008 at 4:39 pm

  4. the list is great, I was soooo busy during the ’80s that I seldom listened to the radio but some of them brought back a smile or two, especially “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun”.

    Rosie

    May 12, 2008 at 4:47 pm

  5. Call Me, Blondie

    It’s Still Rock And Roll To Me, Billy Joel

    Longer, Dan Fogelberg

    Against The Wind, Bob Seger and The Silver Bullet Band

    Sara, Fleetwood Mac

    Another Brick In The Wall, Pink Floyd

    Sledgehammer, Peter Gabriel

    True Colors, Cyndi Lauper

    Venus, Bananarama

    and definitely “Everybody Wants to Rule the World”

    And being the stickler I am,
    Falco did “Rock Me Amadeus”

    Cherie

    May 12, 2008 at 5:02 pm

  6. I’m afraid to say that I think some of the music from the 80’s that didn’t suck did suck (e.g. Cars – Gary Numan) and some of it I don’t recognise but “Come on, Eileen is great!!

    Chris

    May 12, 2008 at 5:43 pm

  7. This is good I can send these out to my friends, since I do music online here

    Mario

    May 12, 2008 at 5:43 pm

  8. sent this one to my son , kyle. he was born in 1983 but is a big fan of the 80’s music.

    Lori

    May 12, 2008 at 9:29 pm

  9. Anything and everything by U2/REM

    Your Love – The Outfield

    Life in a Northern Town – Dream Academy

    Sail On – The Commodores

    Southern Cross – CSN

    And We Danced – Hooters

    The One Thing – INXS

    Handle With Care – Traveling Wilburys

    Blister in the Sun – Violent Femmes

    Any Way You Want It – Journey

    Sister Christian – Night Ranger

    Tainted Love – Soft Cell

    Twilight Zone – Golden Earring

    Hells Bells – AC/DC

    I’ll Melt With You – Modern English

    TO’Neil

    Anonymous

    May 13, 2008 at 9:01 am

  10. OMGosh
    Where was I in the 80’s

    LOL

    Molly

    May 13, 2008 at 10:58 am

  11. I thought most of the 80’s music was pretty lame, until I saw the list. Talk about a trip down memory lane. Oh, and I recognized almost all of the titles mentioned.
    Makes me thankful Rap was around yet LOL.

    Anonymous

    May 13, 2008 at 5:23 pm

  12. I like the list of 80’s songs… some real treasures in there! Here are some more:

    Bow Wow Wow’s “I Want Candy,”
    “No More Words” by Berlin,
    “Heart and Soul” by T’Pau,
    “Poison Arrow” or “Look of Love” by ABC,
    “Something So Strong” by Crowded House,
    “I Just Died In Your Arms” by Cutting Crew,
    “Brand New Lover” by Dead or Alive,
    “I Touch Myself” by the Divinyls,
    “Stand or Fall” or “Saved by Zero” by The Fixx,
    “I Ran” or “Space Age Love Song” by Flock of Seagulls,
    “Salisbury Hill” by Peter Gabriel,
    “Abacab” or “Taking It All Too Hard” by Genesis,
    “Someday” or “Don’t Forget Me When I’m Gone” by Glass Tyger,
    “Love Plus One” by Haircut 100,
    “Things Can Only Get Better” or “No One Ever Is To Blame” by Howard Jones,
    “Destination Unknown” by Missing Persons,
    “I Can’t Wait” by Nu Shooz,
    “Simply Irresistible” by Robert Palmer,
    “Middle of the Road” by the Pretenders, “Major Tom (Coming Home)” by Peter Schilling,
    “Some Like It Hot” by Power Station,
    “Automatic” by the Pointer Sisters,
    “Blood and Roses” by Smithereens,
    “Shout” or “Everybody Wants To Rule the World” or “Head Over Heels” by Tears For Fears,
    “Dance Hall Days” by Wang Chung,
    “Reap the Wild Wind” by Ultravox,
    “Still of the Night” by Whitesnake,
    “Only You” or “Situation” or “Don’t Go” by Yaz?

    Anonymous

    May 15, 2008 at 8:46 am


Leave a Reply

