Sma' Talk Wi' T

Current world events, politics, news, history, culture, trivia, religion, and the quirky

Bailey The Unknown Reindeer

with 4 comments

Christmas has passed but this delightful scene with the winter snow will still tickle you. His owner says:

I shot this video on VHS-C in my backyard, near Ward, Colorado (8,700′ elevation) during a blizzard in the late 1990’s; a local weatherman said it was the most measureable snow (if memory serves, it was 54″ in 48 hours) from the least amount of moisture ever. The only secret is that Bailey was chasing snowballs I’d thrown (she never found any, but obviously didn’t care!). Sadly, Bailey died FAR too young in a house fire on December 26, 1998 so this is all I have left but, truly, she was unique–she was also a self-taught skier, ice skater, and first-class snuggler. Anyway, I’m glad she is now bringing as much pleasure to you as she continues to bring to me. Cheers to dogs, and to all those that love them! Please be well and Happy Holidays!!!

God bless all the Baileys in our life. I know his owner must miss him.

Thanks Jean!

Written by smalltalkwitht

January 26, 2008 at 8:07 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I had a Standard Dachshund, Tuffy, and he would do this in the snow too.

    Brought back lovely memories.

    Cherie

    January 26, 2008 at 9:47 pm

  2. Bailey Rocks!! I had a dog, Koko, I got her as a pup while I was living in Hawaii, thus the name, Koko, after Kokohead, the area on Oahu where I lived. When I moved back to CO, I brought her with me. And that poi dog loved to play in snow, just like Bailey. I’d throw snowballs for her and shes chase after them. If I threw them high up and very close, she would watch them fall into the snow and then pounce into the snow, trying to retrieve that ball. Sometimes she caught the snowballs! I haven’t thought of her in years, this video brought a smile to my face Bailey and her owners, and for Koko and myself. Thanks!

    Kat

    January 27, 2008 at 2:02 pm

  3. I don’t understand why it would make you sad. I thought it was wonderful!

    Barb

    January 27, 2008 at 2:22 pm

  4. Oh sorry Barb … if you read the owner’s words… Bailey died the Christmas (12/26)soon after it was made (1998)in a home fire. It just made me sad that instead of the long life he should have had, he died very young.

    T

    January 27, 2008 at 2:23 pm


Leave a Reply

